Katie Dix Q & A!!!

original-546bbb18de99f.jpg

1. Hi Katie, can you tell me a little bit about yourself before you became a country artist?
Before I became a country artist? Well, I think it’s alway been in my veins being originally from Bakersfield. We had a lot of musical theater, so I did that until I was 18, then I finished school and started working with deaf children with the City School District. I loved working with children, I just knew i had to make music for the rest of my life.
2. Who are some of your musical icons?
I really love country music from the 90s. Shania Twain, Faith Hill, Martina McBride, and Reba Mcentire. Those women have all had successful and long careers. I hope I can continue to make music that people will still be singing twenty years later!
3. If you were not a singer what do you think your career would have been?
Teaching was really fun, I really loved being in the classroom. But, there is something about the stage and entertainment that gets me out of bed every morning. If I wasn’t on stage, I’d probably be doing something behind the scenes, producing shows, editing, etc., I find all that fascinating.
4. Is there anything new coming up in your career? 2016? 2017?
I’m working on two new songs at this very moment and expect to release a music video early next year. I always get excited when going into the studio.
5. If you could do a duet with a singer or group who would it be and why?
I would say Little Big Town and Rascal Flats because I LOVE their harmonies. Or Maren Morris, she is so beautiful and soulful.
6. Where do you see yourself in the 5 to 10 years in your career?
Still making music, touring, and becoming a better guitar player. I wish they made smaller guitar’s…I have such tiny hands! lol
7. What do you like to do in your free time?
I love going on adventures. Anytime I can, I travel or I’ll look up activities in town and go have a blast. I find it hard to sit still. It’s so strange when I hear people say they are “bored”. Theres a bazillion things to discover!
8. What is one accomplishment that you are most proud of so far in your career?
I think it’s being able to be a full time musician. People ask what I do for a living and that’s what I get to tell them. That’s what I set out to do and I get to do it everyday.
9. What is one of your favorite songs that you ever recorded?
I have a song called “Broken”. It has a special place in my heart because its the first song I ever recorded. Several years ago a friend and I had an idea and we recorded the song on the spot in a bathroom of an apartment. The acoustics were amazing, lol. I think it came out great!
10. What is one of your favorite quotes?
My favorite quote? “Listen, smile, agree, and then do whatever the f*#@ you were gonna do anyway.” – Robert Downey Jr.
11. If you had to give advice to an up and coming musician what would you tell them?
I would tell them to surround themselves with people who they look up to. Artists who are doing what they want to do. They will leave feeling, connected, inspired and energized. People who support and understand what your doing for a living is such an amazing feeling!

About Dixiedeeblog

Meet Dixiedee Howdy: Thank you for stopping by my Dixiedee Blog!! I am a brown hair and hazel eye southern California gal living in the LA area. I started this country music blog because I wanted to share about my favorite country artists and groups, delicious recipes. I also do Q&A's and Artist Spotlights with country artists/groups so you guys can learn more about them. Lastly, I love to share anything else that is related to country music.. If you have any questions/comments- then please me email at dixiedeeblog@gmail.com.

Leave a comment